Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, the amount of air traffic is growing, therefore increasing the environment pollution. some people argue that power institutions ought to increase the taxes on airplane companies; however, I completely disagree with this statement.

Firstly, there is no doubt that the government should impose ‘’green taxes’’ on aircraft companies. However, dramatically increasing the taxes it raises the ticket price that leads to reducing of an income from tourism because tourists would not afford to have holidays far away from home. In other words, the key part of passengers, who travel by plane, choose low-cost flights in recent years. For example, countries such as Maldives and Seychelles largely rely on income received from tourism and many citizens work in this sector. if decline significantly the number of tourists in these countries, it would be a huge risk for people to lose the jobs.

Secondly, it is well known that cars, which is the most popular transport means in many countries, mostly have contributed to air pollution, because their engines emit CO2 into the atmosphere. By taxing aircrafts, it does not help to decrease a huge amount of CO2 in the environment. Some airplane companies, for instance, provide an opportunity for passengers to choose additionally pay ‘’green taxes’’ if they want.

Finally, it is clear that these days plethora of goods have exported and imported in many countries by plane. When increasing taxes for airplane companies, it might raise the price of things such as food, computer devices and other stuff. Similarly, it may grow the costs of services. A good illustration is dentist service that the specialists have ordered the main equipment from countries as Germany and Switzerland.

In conclusion, I would state, in my opinion, that reducing air traffic by taxing companies it does not decline air pollution, but more increase people’s dissatisfaction due to losing jobs in the tourism and increasing the costs of goods.