For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write?

How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

It is sometimes argued that playing music should be equally valued as reading and writing skills. In my opinion it would be wrong to force school children to learn luxurious subjects like music.

It has been said that time is gold. Therefore, we should be wise to use the asset efficiently. Firstly, not all pupils are interested in playing music. If the lessons are required, there will be unnecessary pressures on young people leading to fatigue. Furthermore, it is obvious that all students do not plan to be musician later in their lives. Therefore, they may feel their time is being wasted by the schools which may discourage them to be punctual at schools. In addition to that, it would be immoral to require school children to spend their time and energy on unimportant subjects that they are not talented in.

In my opinion, excepting musically talented and passionate people, music is not important to learn. It is clear that music lessons are not the basic requirements for learning other skills as reading and writing are. For example, if we are not literate in reading and writing, we cannot make any progress in school or even we will be challenged in everyday life. However, there are students who have music in their perspective. This is the only time that I support music as an optional course for students which should be offered by schools.

In conclusion, I think music is not as essential as other school courses like reading, in the meantime, school should provide opportunities for musical genius and interested people.