All children should study a foreign language in school, start in the earliest grades.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Every young school children should study a foreign language, early in their gardes. I totally disagree to this notion, as I feel that a child has to be give the choice of opting to learn foreign languages later in their lifes, mastering the local mother tongue needs to be the prime focus.

Firstly, choosing to study other langauages needs to be planned later stages in life by the students, as studying a new language depends on individual perspective, situation and need. For example, learning german would be of no use if the a person is not going to use it or travel to germany so, all efforts taken by the young one at school might become waste if its not utilised later in life. Hence such options may be given to a youngsters when they reach the college or university thus they knows the sole purpose of studying something new.

Secondly, Mother tongue has to be taught to all children. The main reason for this being is preservation of tradition, cultures and habits of a particular place from were theses children orginated. Moreover, when a language is spoken at home it is easy for a student to master it as he is exposed and practice it at home for daily communication with family and friends. Consequently, a child my get confused if they are taught too many langauages and might mix-up the everything. For example, my daughter who is in 1st standard has to learn three langauages English, Tamil and Hindi, I see her mixing up all the three and mastering none.

In conclusion, children should not be forced to learn foreign langauage at younger ages as it might become irrelevent for there use in later life and hence they need to have this choose as per their requirement during college or university level. Furthermore, Preserving and mastering the one primary langauage is vital to avoid confusions while learning it.