All children should study a foreign language, starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement ?

Globalization has become a trend that we cannot ignore nowadays. To cultivate the international communicating skill, children may start to learn foreign languages from little. Although acquiring different language skills can help children become competitive in society, others may argue that children should master their mother tongue first. From my perspective, I believe that children should learn different languages to fit in the global-village trend after they can use their own language well.

Some parents who care a lot about children education may arrange foreign language classes for their children preschool. They believe this may be the only way to cultivate bilingual ability. However, except for the classes, the children may not have the chances to use a foreign language. Lack of practicing can lead to failure of learning a new thing. Furthermore, spending much time on learning languages is not necessary to master it. Take Asian students for example, many Asian students have learned English form 6 years old, but still, need to cram for the language certification test while they grow up. Learning a foreign language in the earliest grade may not be a good choice to cultivate the ability.

Another reason makes learning foreign languages in early age unsuitable is language represent culture. Children should learn and get used to their own culture in the earliest grade. If they do not understand ways people live and custom in their home town, they may be confused by so many different cultures. Last but not least, the key to master different languages is ambition of learning. Forcing children to learn foreign languages may make them lose the interest of learning in the future. Thus, arranging language classes for children preschool may be not worth the loss.

In conclusion, to become a qualified global villager, children nowadays indeed need to learn different languages. However, before acquiring the second language skill, they should be a master of their own language first.