All over the world, people watch foreign film much than locally produced films.

Why?

Should the government provide financial support to local film industries?

There is a tendency that people all over the world prefer to foreign films rather than domestic films. The factors contributing to this trend will be discussed in this essay and I believe that local film industries should be supported be the government.

The phenomenon occurs due to several reasons. Firstly, people have natural curiosity towards different cultures, they are curious about what is different from their daily life. Foreign films could provide people with the exposure of different cultures, thus, foreign films are more likely to arise their interests. Secondly, foreign films especially Hollywood blockbusters have sufficient budget to apply advanced special effects, which could provide the audiences extraordinary viewing experience. Besides, big-budget films often use famous actors and actress, and they are made by the most skilled directors and producers, which made these films more appealing to the audiences. For example, “James Bond’ is a series of films made with famous actors and advanced special effects, these factors made it won the applause of countless audiences worldwide.

In my view, the government has the responsibility to support local film industries financially. To begin with, there exist many talented film-makers who lack sufficient funding to produce great films. With financial support from the government, they can be able to pay for the costs related to film-producing. This could generate more employment opportunities in film industries and increase the sales of film tickets; Films could also attract tourists, many locations became famous because of well-known films. For example, there has been an increase in tourism in New Zealand because of the film “Lord of the rings”. Consequently, supporting film industries could contribute to the economic growth.

In conclusion, curiosity of people and high-quality films are two main reasons why foreign films are popular. The government should help local film industry to develop since it could positively affect the economy.