Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Most universities in the world provide a variety of subjects, from art, literature to technology and business. People have different opinions about whether students should be given the freedom of choosing the courses they are going to participate. Some people believe that students should be allowed to study whatever they like, while the opponents claim that it would be better for students to be forced into certain useful subjects. Personally, I am in favor of the former view.

On one hand, there are some benefits of only offering subjects that are useful in the future. Firstly, for students who major in useful subjects such as science, technology, computer, medicine and so on, they are more likely to find a job after graduation, statistics show that employees in these fields have higher salaries than the average income, thus these students are more likely to have promising prospects in the future. Secondly, the unemployment rate can be reduced by limiting subjects in university. Furthermore, by reducing the number of subjects in universities, more money can be used on focusing on specific subjects, which would lead to faster progresses in these fields.

On the other hand, it is widely acknowledged that “interest is the best teacher”, students can gain better achievements if there are passionate about what they learn. In addition, people are incapable of confirming whether a subject will be useful in the future. It is unrealistic to predict the future since now we live in a fast-developing society, the demand for workforce is changing with the development of society. For example, psychology is used to be considered as an unpopular subject several years ago, whereas as more and more people have realized the importance of psychological health. psychologist is becoming a popular and well-paid job.

In conclusion, it is better to maintain the current higher education system which allows students to study what they like rather than restricting all the students to study specific subjects.