People aim to achieve the balance between their work and lives, but few people achieve it.

What are the causes of the problems?

How to overcome it?

There is a tendency that today numerous people are struggling to keep a balance between work and life. This essay intends to discuss the possible reasons for this phenomenon and also suggest ways to tackle this issue.

The contemporary social environment should be responsible for the imbalance between work and life. Specifically, due to education reform, more people are able to attend university and own a high education, which lead to the growing fierce competition. In order to survive in competition in workplace, working people need to devote more time to improve their work overcomes. Working overtime has become a common phenomenon; furthermore, since we now live in a consumerism society, people face more material temptation than before. In order to fulfill their material desires, some people choose to sacrifice their personal time to work to earn more money. Consequently, due to the competitive working environment and material pursuit, people have less time to spend with family or do household works.

There is no doubt that these lifestyles negatively influence on people’s physical and mental health, therefore this situation has to be changed. To begin with, people need to establish correct values toward money and family. If someone does not understand that the aim of work if for better life, he/she would never be succeeds in balancing work and life. Reasonable allocation of time and work more efficiently could also help people save time. Furthermore, governments should impose laws about limiting working time to guarantee sufficient rest time for working people.

In conclusion, fierce competition and material desires are the reasons why most people fail to achieve work-life balance. In order to address this problem, both governments and individuals should make effort.