More and more people are working at home rather than in the workplaces ,Some people say this will bring benefits to the workers and their families, but others think it will bring stress to the home.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Due to the development of communication technologies, an increasing number of people are working at home rather than in the workplaces. While there are conflicting views regarding whether working at home have more merits or more drawbacks. Personally, I believe that working at home have more merits, which I will elaborate further in the following paragraphs.

Admittedly, working at home can bring stress to personal life. This is because for those who work at home, there is no clear boundary between working hours and personal time. If they encounter difficulties at work, they may inevitably transfer their emotion to other family members. Consequently, negative emotions might spread to every corner in the home and others will be influenced by pressure, which might lead to disputes within the family and impair the family relations.

For those who believe telecommuting have more advantages, they may also have persuasive reasons. Firstly, people who stay at home for work does not need to spend time on commuting to a physical office and can avoid traffic congestion. Thus, more time can be saved for improving work outcomes or spend with family. Secondly, most people would consider home as a more relaxing environment, which could provide them an environment conducive for work. When people feel relaxed, they are more likely to concentrate on their tasks and work more productively. Lastly, home-office base provide people with flexibility. Thus, they can achieve balance between work and life. For example, parents can better manage time to pick-up their children to school or attend school activities if they work at home.

To conclude, although there are chances that working at home can affect people’s life negatively, I believe that people can benefit more from telecommuting since people can enjoy more free time, more relaxed environment and more flexibility from this working pattern.