Many countries use fossil fuels such as coal or oil as the main sources of energy. However, in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged.

Do you think this a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, fossil fuels contribute to the majority of energy resource. While technological advancements made it possible to use renewable resources substitute for fossil fuels. It is a positively development due to several reasons and I am going to explain in detail in this essay.

Firstly, according to statistics given by Rystad Energy which is a Norway energy consulting company, 2017 was the recorded the lowest year for discovered oil reserves globally. As fossil fuels lack sustainability, it is true that we are on the verge of running out of fossil fuels. Therefore, we are in an urgent need of using renewable in order to develop sustainably. The utilization of renewable resources can alleviate the shortage of fossil fuels. Secondly, alternative energy such as solar, wind power and nuclear power are more environmental-friendly. It is acknowledged that a large amount of emissions and exhaust gases are produced in the progress of utilizing fossil fuels, which would lead to tremendous damage to the environment. Renewable source like nuclear power could help to reduce carbon emissions that cause global warming. Thus, environmental problems can be released by using alternative sources. Furthermore, the conflicts between countries can be eased to some extent with the development of renewable sources. It is acknowledged that plenty of wars and conflicts between different counties are caused by competition for petroleum and gas sources. Consequently, using alternative sources could reduce the dependence of fossil fuels for countries lack these natural sources.

In conclusion, I believe that the use of alternative sources is a positively development. It should be the global priority to invest in such research and development.