Many people believe that the human society has developed into a throw-away society, which is filled with plastic bags and rubbish.

What are the causes and solutions?

There is a tendency that people produce more waste than ever before and the disposal of waste has become a severe environmental problem. To tackle this issue, I will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon and give possible solutions to this problem.

To begin with, the amount of waste has increased due to the consumer society. People tend to have more material desires because our society has informed a social atmosphere of mutual comparisons. For example, every time when Apple introduced the new iPhone, a large amount of people will buy the newest iPhone to follow the trendy although the old one still works. As a result, these old smartphones will be abandoned and become a source of waste. In addition, another important factor contributing to this phenomenon is over-packaging. Packaging has become an important part of selling. Therefore, producers put a lot of effort in packaging their products in order to attract consumers. Ironically, some packages are even larger than products themselves. Most packages are made in plastics, which are non-degradable materials and cannot be degraded in hundreds of years.

In order to tackle this issue, both individuals and governments should make effort. Firstly, for individuals, we can change our consumption habits. People can buy less unnecessary products and buy recycled products instead of those made in non-degradable materials. For example, we can use glass bottles to hold water instead of using plastic bottles. Secondly, governments should put legal limits on over-packaging and encourage producers to use environmental-friendly materials.

In conclusion, consumer society and over-packaging have led to this throw-away society. Both individuals and governments should take the responsibility to reduce the amount of waste and save the earth.