Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally accepted that men and women should have equal access to educational opportunities. While the number of male students and female students are not always equal in some courses. There is a proposal of recruiting the same amount of male and female in all the university subjects. Personally, I disagree with this statement and I will further elaborate my points about the issue in this essay.

On one hand, admittedly, this proposal sounds appealing. We now live in a patriarchy society, many fields such as engineer and science are still dominated by man. By restricting the number of male and female students, more women will be encouraged to study in these fields. Thus, it could improve the gender imbalance in workforce and have a positive influence on the equal movement for women’s rights.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks as well. To begin with, I believe that it would be unfair to base admission to university on gender. The qualification of the students should be the primary concern, only in this way, universities could recruit the best candidate. Secondly, it is unrealistic to limit the percentage of students by gender because in reality, some courses are more popular with one gender than the other. For example, engineer usually receives more applicants from male. Therefore, it would be difficult to fill these courses if fifty percent of the places have to be females.

In conclusion, universities should continue to select candidates according to their merits since it is unfair and impractical to select students on gender.