In order to learn a language well, we should also learn about the country as well as the cultures and lifestyles of the people who speak it.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, learning a foreign language has become a global trend, but whether the culture learning should be involved in the curriculum of language remains a controversial issue. Personally, I completely agree with this opinion, which I will elaborate further in the following paragraphs.

It is universal acknowledged that language is the fundamental tool for people to communicate. Therefore, the ultimate purpose of learning a language is communication. But misunderstandings may occur when interacting with foreigners without knowing his/her cultures and lifestyles, which would even develop to conflicts and impair the harmonious between people from different backgrounds. For example, in Chinese, when people asked “have you ever ate a meal?” this is actually a way of greeting to others.

Secondly, the process of learning language is usually tedious, if people study language for a long period of time, their concentration and enthusiasm are likely to decrease, which would impair learning outcomes. By contrast, if they spend a moderate amount of time on learning cultures and lifestyles, they could find interests of learning a language and be more motivated learn now matter no matter what difficulties they are confronted with. From this perspective, learning cultures could facilitate efficient language learning.

Moreover, a considerable part of people study another language in order to study or work overseas, learning cultures and lifestyles are essential to them. Knowing the cultures and lifestyles could alleviate the negative influences of culture shock and help them to get used to their life abroad.

As discussed above, learning cultures and lifestyles are indispensable parts of learning a foreign language, which should be valued by all the language learners.