Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that it is meaningless to spend money on wild animal preservation because there is no place for them in this century. From my own perspective, this view is completely absurd, and I disagree with this view.

To begin with, some wild animal species have been living on the earth for thousands of years, some species even exist before human’s appearance. Human is not the master of the earth, we have no right to decide whether or not wild animals should exist. All the animals made up for the biological chain. It is widely acknowledged that the extinction of one species may cause the imbalance of the entire biological chain. For example, if lions and tigers extinct from the prairie, the number of herbivores will surge, which would lead to the degeneration of the prairie, next, these herbivores will extinct eventually because the lack of sufficient food resource. This example proves to us the importance of keeping species diversity.

In addition, human beings usually provide natural habitats in order to protect wild animals, these natural habitats are also crucial for human survival. For example, forests produce oxygen, absorb carbon dioxide, besides, forests can help regulating climate. If we destroy these areas, there will be further deterioration of the ecological environment, thus we may face more severe environmental problems.

In conclusion, it is necessary to protect wild animals, it is not only for wild animals, but also for the benefits of human. I believe we should do everything we can to protect them.