Nowadays, it is more convenient and easier for people to travel to other countries.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

There is a trend that an increasing number of people choose foreign countries as their travel destinations in the recent years. Personally, I think this is a positive trend which I will elaborate further in the following paragraphs.

There are several factors contribute to this phenomenon. Firstly, the cost of flight has been reduced due to the development of technology, which made international travel more affordable. Secondly, as English has become the dominant language worldwide, more schools in different countries have set up English courses, more people are willing to travel to foreign countries because they would not encounter the language barrier. Furthermore, as connections between different countries have become closer, the visa application systems have become more convenient. Compared to the past, it is easier to get a foreign visa for ordinary citizens.

In my view, the development of international travel should be seen as a positive trend. To begin with, the rising number of tourists can drive the demand for related products and services such as accommodations, transport and tourist attraction’s tickets. This progress can generate more employment opportunities, so that local people would earn a higher salary, which can promote the local economy. In addition, from individual’s perspective, travelling abroad can provide them first-hand experiences about different culture, so that their learning about foreign language and culture will become more interactive and engaging, which could facilitate their understanding about different cultures. Thus, they might be more motivated to study foreign language and culture in the future.

As discussed above, I think that the phenomenon of more people travel to foreign countries arises due to cheaper flight tickets, more English speaker and more convenient visa systems. Both the local economy and the individuals can benefit from this trend.