Nowadays some countries encourage people to buy more and more products, while others believe it has negative effects on the society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a phenomenon that governments in some countries take measures to stimulate consumers to purchase more goods, while people hold opposite views toward this issue. Both sides of this argument will be discussed in this essay, followed by my own opinion.

People who advocate this trend may have following reasons. Firstly, the increasing consumption of goods could benefit the economy. It will drive the demand for more products, which could improve the productivity; it can also generate more employment opportunities, increase people’s income and enable them to afford more products and services. Consequently, there will be constantly increasing demand for products. Furthermore, purchasing more products can provide a sense of fulfillment for consumers. It is proven by psychologists that the purchasing behavior can increase happiness to people because people would feel that they can control their life by consumption.

However, for those who against people to buy more products, they may also have persuasive reasons. To begin with, factories have to produce more products to meet the rising demand, this will result in more pollutant emissions, land-use and deforestation, which are main factors contributing to climate change. In addition, in order to buy more goods, people have to work harder to earn more money. As the working time becomes longer, the time spend with friends and family would be inevitably reduced. Thus, they may lose some close friends who can share happiness and sorrow with and more disputes may occur with the family.

To conclude, the national-wide pursuit for economic prosperity brings both benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, the encouragement for people to buy more goods can contribute to the economic development and bring happiness to individuals. But the negative impacts on the environment and personal relationship cannot be neglected.