Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that medicines are tested on animals before they are clear for human use for a long history. However, people hold different views toward this issue. The opponents believe that such experiments should be prohibited, while others claim that animal testing is still necessary. Personally speaking, I think animal testing should not be banned in the current era.

On one hand, there are ethical arguments against animal testing. For example, the laboratory mice used in testing would be given an illness in order to measure the effectiveness of a new drug. These mice could be suffering from pain or even dead because of such experiments. Opponents of animal testing argue that all the creatures on the earth are equally and should be respected, human have no right to cause such pain to animals just for the search of medicine for humans. They believe that the benefits of research using animals do not justify the suffering caused. .

However, I will explain why animal testing should be existed. Firstly, animal experiments are still the most reliable way to test the safety of new drugs. Indeed, scientists could try to develop alternatives to animal experiments, but it would cost a vast amount of money and time, which would be better to spent on medicine researches. Secondly, some animals have strong breeding, which means there is little impact on their existence even they are being used for animal testing. Furthermore, if all the animal experiments are banned, we cannot guarantee if there are any serious side-effects of new drug, which might put patients in danger.

In conclusion, it would be wrong to completely ban animal testing for medical research until reliable alternative methods have been developed.