Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Animal experiments have been using for medical and scientific researches for a long time. However, people hold different views toward this issue. Some people believe that such experiments should be prohibited, while the supporters argue that animal testing is still necessary.

On one hand, some people against animal testing for ethical concerns. For example, the laboratory mice used in testing might be ill or even dead because of experiments, the benefits of research using animals do not justify the suffering caused. Furthermore, opponents of such experiments argue that human have no right to hurt other animals for human’s own benefits, all the creatures on the earth should be treated equally. Scientists should use alternative methods of research.

On the other hand, animal testing is still the most reliable method for medical research. For those who support animal testing, they believe that plenty of people cannot be able to trust the safety of a new drug if this drug has not been tested by animals, they will be afraid of its side-effects. They claim that opponents of animal testing may feel differently if their own family needed a medical treatment that had been developed through animal testing.

Personally speaking, I agree with the banning of animal testing for non-medical use. As a fact, animal testing for the cosmetic industry is now banned in many countries. But it might be necessary in new drugs development.

In conclusion, it would be wrong to completely ban animal testing for medical research until reliable alternative methods have been developed.