Today ,the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Do you agree or disagree?

We are surrounded by advertisements in our daily life. For example, when we walk on the street, when we turn on the television, when we browse the Internet, advertisements could be seen almost everywhere. Some people believe that consumers tend to buy unnecessary products because of the influence of advertising. Personally speaking, I agree with this opinion.

To begin with, advertising is responsible for consumer society because it create the culture of consumption. In order to survive in severe business competition, a lot of effort is put into advertisements by companies. Producers apply advertisements in various mass media such as print, TV and the Internet. Consequently, advertisements could be seen everywhere. It has been proved by psychological research that people are more likely to have material desires if they are being exposed to a large amount of advertisements every day in comparison with those who watch fewer advertisements in their daily life.

In addition, more and more advertisements are displayed in a fantastic and abstract way. For example, it is common to see an image of luxurious and successful life in some advertisements of cars, wines and perfumes. They intend selling a brand image, consumers are encouraged to associate certain brands with higher social status. In this way, they may buy goods impulsively with the illusion of decent life shown in advertisements. In this way, advertisements play a role of manipulating people.

In conclusion, the power of advertising is not being overestimated, it leads to the consumption growth and greatly effect on modern commercial world. Nevertheless, its negative influence of stimulating impulse buying should not be neglected.