Many people are afraid to leave their home because of crime. Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime. While others feel that little action can be done to stop crime.

What is your view?

The high crime rate has led to a phenomenon that plenty of people are afraid of leaving home, which impair the social security and stability. There are conflicting views regarding whether crime could be prevented or not. Personally, I believe that measures could be done to reduce the high crime rate efficiently.

Firstly, offenders should be given punishment according to the severity. For those who commit serious crime like murder, they should receive strict punishment such as life imprisonment or death penalty. Strict punishment could be a deterrent to potential law-breakers, they might be afraid of the consequence of being caught. As a result, some of them might give up their illegal plans.

Secondly, some people recommit after being released because they cannot find a decent job and make living, this is also a reason contribute to the high crime rate. If education or vocational training can be provided in prison, prisoners are more likely to secure employment when they go back to society, this measure could lead them to the correct path and reduce the crime rate efficiently.

Lastly, the education system should play an important role in preventing crimes. Schools can provide moral lessons to help students develop a sound moral system. Since there is much misbehavior promoted in society, if they are exposed to improper information, their moral awareness could prevent them from being misled. This could reduce juvenile delinquency and the possibilities of becoming criminals when they grow up.

In conclusion, although tacking crimes is challenging, crime prevention can be achieved through the measures mentioned above. Both the government and the education system should take responsibility to build a secure society.