Some people think the increasing business and cultural contact between countries brings many positive effects. Others say it causes the loss of national identities.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are conflicting views regarding whether more connections between different countries bring more merits or demerits. Both sides of this argument will be discussed in this essay, followed by my own opinion.

For those who claim that the increasing cross-cultural activities and economic cooperation is beneficial, they may have following reasons. To begin with, trading activities have become more active due to the increasing business collaboration between countries. This helps people all over the world purchase and sells products at a competitive price, which could promote productivity and improve the economy; it can also generate more employment opportunities related to the trading industry. Moreover, culture exchange allows people to have more contacts with others from different backgrounds, which could eliminate misunderstandings between countries. Thus, conflicts can be effectively avoided, and it could help build a harmonious world.

Nevertheless, for those who believe that this trend could impair national identities, they can also justify this opinion. Firstly, the invasion of dominant cultures might negatively influence on the development of domestic cultural industries. For example, most people tend to watch Hollywood blockbusters more than local films, this has led to the fading of film industry in many countries. Furthermore, teenagers are easily to be influenced by the environment, some of them might imitate foreign culture blindly if they are being exposed to large amounts of information about other culture. This would impair their sense of national belongings.

In conclusion, the increasing international contacts could positively influence the global economy and world peace. However, its negative impacts on national identities cannot be neglected, governments should pay attention to cultural heritage.