Some people believe that in order to give opportunities to new generations companies should encourage high level employees who are older than 55 to retire.

Do you agree or disagree?

Why?

It is believed that the elderly who are in higher positions should be encouraged to retire by the companies in order to provide more opportunities for younger staff. Personally, I agree with this opinion, which I will elaborate further in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the elderly are usually more conservative and reluctant to innovate. Their management skills and professional knowledge cannot keep pace with the rapid development of modern commercial society, which would result in losses in business. In contrast, young employees are more willing to accept new ideas and technology, they prefer to approach a task from different angles and try to find the most effective measure. Their existence in senior management could bring new opportunities to the company. For example, the elder administrative staff is used to use traditional marking strategies such as newspapers and billboards, while the younger employees are skilled in using social media such as Facebook and Twitter to advertise the products, which is a more effective and economic way of marketing.

Secondly, it is acknowledged that physical condition would go downhill as people grow old. As managerial staff, it is inevitable to work overtime. However, the elder employees are unable to work for a long time or complete intensive working tasks, which would impair the working outcomes.

Lastly, the senior managerial staff usually receives a higher salary which would be a financial burden to enterprises. If these job positions are replaced by younger staff with lower payment, large amounts of expenditures can be saved and being used in other fields such as facilities improvement or advertisement investment to facilitate the development of the company.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that younger generation should be given more opportunities in management level since enterprises can benefit from it.