Many people are afraid to leave their home because of crime Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime While others feel that little action can be done to stop crime What is your view

Nowadays, many individuals think twice before stepping outside their homes due to an increasing crime rate in many nations. It is often argued that more stringent laws can be introduced for the protection of the citizens. On the other hand, some people believe that there is little opportunity to permanently eradicate violent offenses. Both the contrasting views are discussed in this essay, and I believe that stricter regulations can certainly eliminate illegal activities and ensure the safety of the people.

For the prevention of crime in any nation, government authority can make harsh laws for criminal offenses, so as to develop a sense of fear in the minds of miscreants. Such strict punishments can set an example for those people who indulge in brutal offenses. Furthermore, the government can upgrade the security arrangements with the latest technology for surveillance, like digitally face recognition methods to identify the suspects from the crowd. Such initiatives are proven to be successful in some developing countries, Dubai, for example, where with stringent laws and upgraded technology, the government is able to prevent offending in the first place.

On the contrary, some individuals opine that there is a slight opportunity to control the unlawful activities in society, as it a conundrum task to change the mentality of criminals. They think that despite harsh laws and vocational training to avert crime, there will always a proportion of citizens who have no fear of repercussions of their wrongdoings, and they cannot be changed into civilized human beings. In countries like China, for example, despite hard punishments for criminals, the crime rate in the country is second highest across the globe. Therefore stringent policies are failed to mitigate unlawfulness in such nations.

To conclude, on one hand, some individuals think that with a harsh approach towards bad elements of the society, the crime rate can be controlled to a larger extent. On the other hand, some people believe that strict laws cannot always work to eradicate the motives of convicts. I think that there should be a collaborative effort by all the nations to work in the same direction for the prevention of serious incidents, and this can be achieved by sharing intelligence and ensuring public safety through reformatory schools.