It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful Architects should not worry about producing as a work of art Do you agree or disagree

It has been debated for a long time that the primary objective of an architect is to build a structure useful rather than attractive, so that its sole purpose can be served. I disagree with this statement because for effective operations or services in any building, it is imperative to make it beautiful, so that people would enjoy the ambience and atmosphere inside such structures and the efforts of builders can be well recognized by the people.

When architects put their efforts in developing a building that looks attractive, it results in an influx of visitors as it is a human tendency to appreciate beautiful things. Furthermore, apart from the core services of any building, people get an opportunity to enjoy other services, like watching television in the waiting room, sitting in the garden area or eating in the cafeteria. In other words, People feel much satisfied when they encounter these kinds of attractions. For example, in suburbs of Indian states, people refrain from visiting government hospitals and prefer to go to private medical buildings as they feel much comfortable in a relaxing atmosphere when they see attractive facilities, like water fountains and adequate space in the waiting area, around them.

Secondly, with an increasing number of visitors in any government or private structure due to beautiful attractions, more revenue is generated which helps the organization to improve their services for mankind. Consequently, people appreciate the hard work of builders and service providers for such outstanding facilities. Many government offices in Delhi, for example, have revamped their office premises with garden areas and beautiful paintings on the walls. Such strategy has proven to be successful for many states to attract people to opt government services rather than going with private service providers.

In conclusion, ensuring the core services and functions operational of any building, it is of utmost importance that the structures should be eye-catching so as to attract more visitors and the hard works of the builders are well recognized. This helps not only in surging revenue of the department but also ensures better services for mankind.