The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harm to the individuals and the society as a whole To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many individuals argue that the news broadcasted in social media, mainly highlights the disputes and criticalities rather than upward growth, which has an adverse effect on both the citizens and the community. I certainly disagree with the above notion and believe that showing the pain areas of society helps the local public to grow in a continuous manner.

When social media, mainly televised media, make communal problems a core subject of their TV shows, they show a bitter truth of the society which no one wants to hear. In simple words, they highlight the struggle of a common man and social issues, like poverty, unemployment, and anarchy in the state. Such an approach helps the individuals and the state to work on the areas which require immediate attention for the betterment of the people. For instance, many famous news channels, like BBC News, publish a separate section of news on environmental and social issues in the columns of their newspapers. This allows the government and policymakers to eliminate the problems and make lives better for the people.

Apart from this, the positive trend of a state’s development shown by the media does not add much value to the individual’s lives, and this diverts their minds from the real issues of the society. Secondly, the effectiveness of a positive development can be experienced by the local residents in their everyday lives; therefore there is no point in advertising the success stories which the public is already benefitting from. In some developing countries, China, for example, it is illegal to broadcast anything against the government policies, and media professionals are forced by the government administrators to show a false picture of a state, with positive developments, to the people. Such an approach deters the socio-economic development of a country.

In conclusion, it has been long debated that in spite of focusing on the growth, journalists particularly concentrate on the problem areas of the state. I opine that focusing only on the positives diverts our minds from the real problems and restricts the growth of the individuals as well as the community.