The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing Do you agree or disagree

In the past decade, there has been an enormous growth in customers buying products online, and this growth is somehow responsible for a decline in shops in towns and cities. With innovative technology and the proven better customer experience in online shopping, it is evident that, in the future, most customers will prefer to choose online merchants for their daily necessities, and it will result in the decline in small stores in the market.

With the numerous benefits of online shopping, people find it more convenient to purchase merchandise using online platforms, and choosing products and services from a wide range of options. This results in fewer customers choosing small shops in the market for buying goods for their daily use. Secondly, with lucrative discounts offered in online shopping applications, more customers are attracted to online platforms. For example, different mobile applications, like Amazon, provide a wide range of products for customers, also offers all after sales facilities that a customer expects from a reliable shopkeeper. For the above reasons, people are rejecting the idea of going into their local market and relying on e-commerce for their necessities.

On the other hand, in spite of many advantages of internet shopping, there will always a small proportion of individuals who will prefer to visit supermarkets, as the traditional shopping method makes them feel more confident while buying any product. This is because, when they visit any shop run by a small seller, they evaluate the product and service in real-time, and ensure the optimum quality of the item. Furthermore, while shopping in the market, individuals can enjoy the outing with their peers, and feel the outside world. For example, in order to purchase jewellery, people always prefer to visit the shop so as to ensure the quality and genuineness of the article.

In conclusion, on one hand, because of multiple benefits of internet shopping, people are choosing to shop from their homes than in stores, however, there will always a small proportion of people who will stick to the traditional shopping method to ensure better customer satisfaction.