Some people believe that governments should not provide international aid when they have unemployment and homelessness in their country To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is often discussed by some individuals that financial assistance should not be provided to poor countries if there are needy people in their own nation. I certainly disagree with this notion and believe that there are much more underprivileged people in some poor countries who struggle to fulfil their basic necessities as compared to a small proportion of disadvantaged people in developed nations.

In many developed countries, like, Canada, despite all the basic services and facilities by the governments, like free education, low health care costs, a small percentage of people fail to make their lives better and live a disadvantaged life. They face such situations because of their lifestyle and their low calibre to use those opportunities to learn and grow. Apart from that, it is nearly impossible for any government to fulfil the needs of these people for their whole lives. For example, in The United States of America, despite the high quality of education and abundant job opportunities, there is almost 10% unemployment among the youth as they are involved in illicit activities.

On the other hand, there are some poor countries, like, Somalia, where a majority of the people die every day because of hunger due to bad governance and lack of facilities. In these states, common men struggle to afford food for a single time in a day. Furthermore, this number of underprivileged people in such failed nations is much higher than a small proportion of disadvantaged citizens in affluent nations. Therefore, it is imperative to provide monetary assistance and other support to these individuals from underdeveloped nations that deserve such help. Some rich countries, England, For example, provide medical aid and financial assistance to Nepal every year, despite 5% homeless people in their own country.

To conclude, it is evident that international aid by rich nations should be provided to poor countries as there always be a small proportion of disadvantaged people in affluent nations, and these governments possess a greater responsibility towards a large group of people in poor nations where survival of citizens is at stake due to lack of basic needs and poor governance.