Some people believe that governments should not provide international aid when they have unemployment and homelessness in their country.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few individuals are of the thought that state support to countries ought to be restricted as there are many local issues to be addressed instead. In my view, I strongly disagree with this statement because the international relief is mostly required when its a serious matter and other countries will be reluctant to help on the time of need of the host country.

There are a great number of reasons to not advocate the idea of stopping support to other countries. The most compelling one is that problem within the countries are not as critical the countries who ask for help. Problems such as natural disasters which needs an urgent response from countries to provide with life-saving aids which contribute to mitigating the after effects of those disasters. Undoubtedly, there are certain areas where the state should be spending their budget on but at the time of catastrophic the world becomes united and supports each other for the sake of saving humanity.

Another reason to conflict with limiting the relief to countries is that the time might come when the country with limited policies for foreign assistance might face the same issue of any life-threatening situation and other countries would also decline to provide any kind of aid. Undeniably, there is always a principle of give and take among all parts of the world and surviving is all about making strong ties with other countries so that they will support in the time of need. Doing the opposite of that would only attract the worst results when any severe situation arises.

Given this argument, it is reasonable to conclude that the state should offer assistance to any country in need. This will not only strengthen the relationship with other countries but it will also provide an assurance of receiving the same support if the crucial time comes.