Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women.

To what extent do you agree?

In developed countries, men and women occupy equal managerial and director level positions in a company. Some people believe that organisations ought to put fixed percentage to appoint women in positions with high ranks. In my view, I strongly disagree with this statement as the selection for any position should be on the criteria of skills and experience required.

There are a great number of reasons why fixing the amount of females in a company will have adverse results. The most important one is that different positions especially the positions to control the company, requires a certain set of skills and experience regardless of gender. It should be the qualification and character as a choosing factor for such positions. In other words, it is possible that companies might cross the percentage of women staff if their needs are fulfilled by women but making a rule of hiring certain number of females would cripple the company to hire the deserving one.

Another reason to not follow the idea of certain number of women in the company is that some roles requires late sitting and intense travelling. And as most females are uncomfortable sitting late and with male staff, it hinders them to complete their job effectively. Moreover, women are mostly taking care of their household as well which again restrict their movement from city to city for business purposes. For instance, women working as personal relationship manager would be less productive as compared to men because men would be comfortable to travel anywhere with any working time.

Finally, fixing the number of women to be hired would affect the corporate environment. It is likely that to complete the female quota of a company, some of the women resources would not be upto the par. This would deteriorate the productivity of employees who are more deserving and experienced and now this unfair hiring would discourage them to work properly. In this way, the competent workers would feel unfairly treated and it would also destroys the oppurtunity for deserving people who would get the job instead of hiring an uncompetent women.

Given this argument, it is reasonable to conclude that the process of appointing individuals for important designations, companies should always prefer seniority and a best fit personality rather than gender.