Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Most top-level posts in organizations are filled by males despite the fact that the workforces in many First World countries are predominantly composed of females; thus, it must be made compulsory for organizations to reserve a fixed percentage of these positions for females. I do not agree with the idea of reserving a fixed number of posts for women because women will not be incentivized to work hard, since they will know that they can easily take on executive roles without working hard for those roles, and secondly, talented men will be prevented from occupying top positions since those positions will be occupied by women on account of women’s fixed quota.

It must not be made compulsory for business enterprises to allocate a fixed number of posts for women because doing so will discourage women from working hard. Female workers in lower positions will harbor a feeling that no matter how poor they perform; they will still take on executive roles. Consequently, they will not work hard, and not only will the performance of female employees decline, but the performance of the entire company will also suffer. For instance, according to an article published in the New York Times, once Boogy Woogie, a Chinese shoe manufacturer, announced that 30% of managerial roles were reserved for females, female staff members lost the desire to work overtime because they knew that they would be promoted to the position of a manager without working extra hours.

My other reason for disagreeing with the idea of reserving a fixed quota for female employees is that this measure will prevent gifted men from occupying top posts. As those positions will be filled by women, male workers will not be able to rise through the ranks within their organizations. As a result, skilled, knowledgeable and learned men will feel that they have been treated unfairly and will consider resigning from their jobs. For example, according to an article published in Time magazine, once Scooby-Doo, a Finish chocolate manufacturer, passed a law that a certain number of vacancies were allotted to female employees, more and more talented male members of staff started tendering their resignation because they realized that they could not be promoted to more responsible roles within the organization.

In conclusion, I am in complete disagreement with the statement that a fixed percentage of posts must be allotted to female staff because such a measure will demotivate women from working hard, and secondly, talented men will not be able to fill high-level vacancies.