In many countries, people are following new fashion and hairstyles

What are the reasons to influence it?

Is it a positive or negative development?

In a number of countries, people like to be updated according to new fashion and hairstyle trends. Advertisement and showing superiority are few of the reasons for this trend. I am of the opinion that following new styles bring more harm than good.

There are a number of factors which have made trend following popular. Firstly, the persuasive advertisement from brands. It is common to relate businesses with famous celebrities to attract customers for their products. People always try to imitate superstars so they can also possess the charisma and attraction exist in celebrities. It is often reported that people stand in lines to buy the specific outfit worn by a famous celebrity. Secondly, people show off their financial superiority by buying new fashion clothes and styling their hairs according to famous personalities. It is commonly considered as a status symbol because in this way rich people can make others see their enormous wealth and differentiate them from other lower classes.

However, an increase in latest fashion trends following has some serious problems. First of all, the increase in crime. People who cannot afford to follow this trend might do immoral activities to be able to buy it. People belong to the middle class or poor families may think that society will not accept them if are not updated with the new trends. Trend following has made a gap between these two classes which poor try to fill by illegal means. In addition, local cultures are losing their value. Adopting western culture by following new trends have made local values disappear. Every country has its own way of clothes and appearance which represents their culture but the latest trends are mostly opposite of the culture. For example, in many Arab countries, people use to wear the outfit called 'Kandoora' but nowadays they all follow the latest fashion and now it is difficult to spot an Arab in those countries.

In conclusion, it is clear that extensive advertisement and showing of status are some of the main influences to follow new trends. I believe it brings a lot of issues such as crimes and losing local culture.