In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

is this a positive or a negative development?

Recently, customers have started doing their shopping from malls and shopping centers which results in the closure of small shops found in local areas. I am of the opinion that this trend has brought more benefits than drawbacks.

There are a number of drawbacks to the increase in shopping centers. First of all, going to the mall is inconvenient for some people. Locals who buy only a small amount of things are more comfortable to buy it from shops which are close to their houses. For instance, going to the mall for a tea packet would be very expensive, considering the cost to reach the mall and the time it will consume. Secondly, closing small shops would bring unemployment. A lot of people who are not educated are employed by these local shops. They cannot even apply for jobs in malls because of their low education.

However, mall shopping has significant positive aspects to it. It brings customers under one roof. Centers designed for shopping includes every amenity of life which includes a huge range, starting from cars and all the way to a needle. This also helps in increasing sales as consumers might buy products which they were not originally intended to buy because of the availability. In addition, usually, malls have big traders who buy products in bulk and this results in cheaper prices. Malls are famous for discounted prices as compared to small shops which are beneficial for all kind of consumers. This is also because of the competition among traders to attract customers.

In conclusion, while closing shops in local areas would bring unease to people living around them and would also result in lose of jobs. I believe the trend of shopping from malls, far outweighs the minor disadvantages for it as the prices are way cheaper and gives customers wider access to all kind of products.