In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

In this modern era, there is an ongoing deliberation among people on the positive and negative impacts on people going to shopping malls. While some people argue that negative impacts overweight the positive effects, on my point of view I strongly disagree with that argument. In this essay, I shall discuss on the factors strengthening my point of view while analyzing both sides of it to a greater extent.

First and foremost, customers can benefit by shopping in large shopping malls. For instance, they can buy variety of goods under one roof such as groceries, stationary items, baby items, clothes, shoes and other household items. They even can compare goods in different brands and buy the best product according to their need. In addition, they can buy products at a much cheaper price because large shopping malls operates with economies of scale.

On the other hand, when we consider about small shops it helps to earn money for small scale producers, manufacturers; however, it gives less benefits to the general public. If the general public prefers to go to shopping malls there is a risk of closing down the small scale local shops. For instance, in Sri Lanka there are less number of grocery shops operate due to the increasing number of shopping mall operating in the area. Consequently, lot of small scale retailers have lost their jobs due to this reason. As a solution to this issue,smalll scale retailers can supply their goods to these large scale shopping malls instead of operating shops incurring cost on rent,rates and labour.

In conclusion, when we look at the issue from the customer’s point of view it gives positive impacts on them, but when we consider at the point of small scale retailers it denotes high number of negative impacts. It is also believed, that government need to give concessions to small scale retailers to ensure their livelihood.