In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

Over the past few years, there has been a soaring trend of number of malls on a global scale, which makes people in dilemma over whether it is useful or harmful approach. I hold to the notion that whilst it could has negative effects in terms of closing small shops, there could be some positives for buyers. This will be proven by analyzing the impacts of such a trend with respect to economy and individuals.

To begin with, small shops may be forced to close when they compete with large ones, which could have detrimental influence on economy. This is because expansion of building malls could lead to the rich become richer and the poor become poorer; consequenlty, the middle class, the backbone of any society, would disappear. A prime example of this is hyper markets such as Carefour and Hyper One. The sales of these markets have exceeded 60% of all groceries' sales in Egypt, according to AlAhram newspaper. Hence, this example shows that this kind of markets could result in fewer local shops; therefore, many people tend to lose their jobs, and their ability to buy products as well.

Nevertheless, despite its weeknesses, this phenomenon could bring some benefits to customers. The reason for this is that competition, in general, results in better not only products quality but also prices. For instance, when visiting City Stars mall, more that 250 clothes shops can be explored, where one can compare between several products of different brands, and choose what suits his budget in one visit. Had it not been for large shopping centres, shopping experience would have been more difficult.

By way of conclusion, Even though the preference of shopping from malls could badly affect society, it has some positives for buyers regarding the variety of products. It is thus recommended that economists and authorities ought to work together to study such a phenomenon, and issue new regulations to control the increasing number of malls, if needed.