In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development ?

Customers these days mostly going to shopping malls for their weekly shopping rather than small nearby shops. Many people say that it is causing the small shops getting closed. I disagree this and instead it is a positive development which I will discuss below.

To begin with, most of the people in cities have their busy work life over the weekdays. Due to this, they do most of their shopping at bulk in the weekends or month ends. As they buy in bulk, large shopping malls offers discounted prices on their shopping cart and showcases only the certified products in quality. Hence ,customers will go to shopping malls to buy and save their valuable time and money.

In addition to that, shopping malls have zones of entertainment, food and games under single roof. So, most of the times customers can have a fun filled weekend activity along with their shopping at the same time. Also, shopping malls can bring multiple vendors under single umbrella, so that customer can have option to choose variety of products. Moreover, malls promote the organic food products thereby bringing the awareness on healthy foods.

Most of the times, managing and collecting taxes in small shops is very difficult, but it is an organized process in the malls. At the same time, malls are providing more job opportunities compared to small shops. Workers in small shops is paid very less and unstable working culture with no growth prospects leading to the unemployment. But workers in malls has opportunity to grow and generating employment is an additional positive aspect.

In conclusion, customers can save their time and money by shopping in the malls. At the same time, malls also allowing the small vendors to partner with them in B2B fashion and increasing the employment rate.