Some people think it is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment for people who are already ill To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many individuals opine that public taxes should be efficiently utilized on the promotion of living a healthy life than on the cure of illnesses. I am completely in the agreement with the above notion as it is comparatively cheaper to promote a healthy lifestyle than to treat diseases. Moreover, the vast of money spent on the treatment of illnesses can be used for other useful purposes.

It is believed by people that prevention is always better than cure, and when it comes to our health it is always advisable to spread awareness on adopting a healthy lifestyle than to spend money on medical bills. Apart from that, it is a proven fact that the cost of promoting a disciplined life which includes a healthy diet and regular exercise is much less than the treatment of comorbidities. Many developed nations, Canada, for example, spend millions of dollars on spreading awareness on the importance of a healthy lifestyle. They publish several adverts on monthly basis to educate people on living a stress-free life. Such initiatives bend the cover of people suffering from diseases.

Secondly, people spend a vast sum of money on the treatment of illnesses and sometimes they spend their life savings to cure the diseases. Not only this impacts their financial status but it is also detrimental to the local economy. Conversely, if people start living a healthy life they can stay away from illnesses and their hard-earned money can be utilized for other useful things, like traveling. For example, a survey done in the United States shows that the regions where people suffer from any disease are less developed due to lack of manpower, and less physically fit adults to perform difficult tasks at jobs.

To conclude, it is often debated by individuals that people’s tax should be used to promote healthy living than on huge medical bills. I completely agree with this statement as the cost of living a healthy life is much less than the treatment of many deadly diseases. Also instead of spending their money on the treatment of illnesses, individuals can spend their money for various other useful purposes.