The traditional life style of local people in developing countries is attracting and increasing the number of tourists to the countries which has the effect of preventing local people changing to modern ways To what extent do you agree or disagree

In growing nations, foreign visitors are influenced and impressed with the culture and tradition of indigenous people, due to which native people are adapting foreign culture, and giving less importance to their traditional culture.

With an increasing influx of tourists in developing countries, local people are fascinated with western culture and forgetting their own traditions. They inculcate the luxurious lifestyle of foreigners and try to copy the same in their own lives. This results in overlooking the moral values of their forefathers and losing their own identity. In many villages of Rajasthan, In India, for example, people prefer to wear western clothes, and use the latest technology machines in their everyday lives, they hardly wear their traditional clothes and copy every new fashionable trend from western culture.

Apart from this, the result of paying less emphasis on culture by indigenous people has been reflected in a decline in tourism in such places. This is because, when local people, in remote areas of a country, adapt foreign culture in their day-to-day lives, it deters their cultural values, and tourists don’t find such places interesting to visit. Resultingly, these urban areas remain underdeveloped due to a lack of tourism. For example, the percentage of foreign visitors in the suburbs of India has been decreased substantially in the last 5 years, and this results in a decline in the economic growth of these rural areas.

In a nutshell, the increasing number of tourists from abroad has a detrimental effect on the cultural values of the native people. The local people inculcate the foreign lifestyle and give less importance to their own core cultural values.