The traditional life style of local people in developing countries is attracting and increasing the number of tourists to the countries which has the effect of preventing local people changing to modern ways. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent years have witnessed a marked interest in international tourism and the traditional lifestyles of people in the developing countries are acting as magnets to the tourists. However, I disagree that this is deterring the local people to change their customs and traditions and adopt modern ways of life. A number of arguments support my opinion.

The most convincing argument to support this view is that the local people that come in contact with these tourists may develop a sort of copying behaviour, as they want to live and behave in the same way. This is because many tourists come from societies with different consumption patterns and lifestyles which may seem more attractive to the locals especially in the less developed countries. To add to it, tourism can force the local people to alter their cultures such as religious rituals and festivals to conform to tourist expectations which may take them away from their traditional lifestyles.

Furthermore, tourists want souvenirs, arts, crafts, and cultural things, and in many tourist destinations, craftsmen have responded to the growing demand, and have made changes in design of their products to bring them more in line with the new customers' tastes. Another important reason why local people are not interested in sticking to their traditional lifestyles is that they feel they are being exploited to attract tourism whereas the major chunk of profits goes to those who have the modern lifestyles. This is because, in developing countries, many jobs occupied by local people in the tourist industry are at a lower level, such as housemaids, waiters, gardeners and other practical work, while higher-paying and more prestigious managerial jobs go to foreigners or urbanized nationals.

A final reason to disagree with the given statement is that most tourists just want a glimpse of new things and are mainly looking for familiar things in unfamiliar surroundings such as fast food outlets and well known hotel chains. When such places are made for the tourists, the local people also use them and eventually a transition to the modern lifestyle occurs.

To summarise, I disagree with the view that tourism is motivating people to retain their culture and tradition. In fact tourism thrusts traditional communities into the modern world, threatening their distinct lifestyles and cultural products.