Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some researchers in the field of education believe that equal number of men and women should be accepted in single university classes. I completely disagree with this notion based on some reasons.

The group of according view have several proofs for their idea. Firstly they know less number of a particular gender as a cause of some problems, e.g. shyness or communicating hardship, whilst in the era of gender equity, enhancing communication skills with the opposite sex is an undeniable need and educational circumstances are appropriate places to hone these skills. Secondly, this group consider equal men and women as a sign of gender equity, whereas equity does not always mean justice. More or less number of women may be interested in a particular subject or major, and this would not be fair to force them choose another class.

Besides, the other group oppose the ideas mentioned above. This group are devided into two different groups. The first believe that some basic differences between two genders are observed which may lead them to different educational choices. While the second consider people’s choices as an influence of variety of factors except gender, including age, culture, personality, interests, talents, etc. I personally agree with the last group and opine that policy makers should free scholars to choose their major and subjects based on their abilities and interests.

To sum up, besides the proofs of some researchers due to gender equity, from my personal stand point, the best approach in the case of men and women numbers in classes is to observe their real abilities and estimate it’s overlap with the needs of their chosen major.