Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport Nevertheless Cycling is getting less popular What are the reasons of this trend What can be done to make cycling more popular

The popularity of cycling has been falling recently, despite its healthy and environmentally friendly nature. Although some reasons have led to this trend, it can be stopped by applying some measures.

The reduction in cycling in the past decades is resulted from several factors. First of all, people experience long commutes these days, especially in megacities, compared to the past that they mostly moved locally. Thus using cars is more beneficial in traveling long distances. In addition, lifestyles have changed and today, thanks to the development of cities, people are often too exhausted to ride a bike. As a result, they find driving more convenient than riding. Consequently, the construction of roads and highways will increase the danger of cycling for the ones who are still interested, and in the long-term they would tend to give up on biking.

Besides the concerning factors mentioned, some measures could be taken into account to encourage city dwellers into using bicycles. The first and foremost is the improvement of biking infrastructure. For instance, adding riding paths to the roads would enhance safety for cyclists, as well as allocating parking lots to the bikes in order to boost their security. Moreover, most cities have evaluation gains that enable cyclists to ride their bikes everywhere, tending to carry them on the subway or bus sometimes. Hence, considering appropriate practices towards this would be positive.

In conclusion, although various triggers lead citizens to avoid cycling, like the lack of suitable infrastructure, good steps can be taken to encourage them, such as parking and cycling lanes, combined with public transport acts.