Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, Cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

It cannot be denied that in comparison with other modes of transport, riding a bicycle has more positive effects on our health and environment as well. However, it is attracting less attention from people. This essay will look at the primary causes of the trend and suggest some possible solutions to the problem.

There are a number of reasons for the reduction in the use of bicycles. The first reason is that this kind of transport can be inconvenient every once in a while. This is because people nowadays tend to choose to live in the suburbs and work in big cities, so if they use a bicycle for their daily commute, it might cause problems which public transport and private cars do not. For example, it would be an arduous task for my husband to cycle 20 kilometers to work every day, whereas it is much easier for him to ride a motorbike, which he does. Another reason is that cycling can be dangerous under extreme weather conditions such as storms or droughts. For instance, if we have to ride a bicycle when it is very hot or heavily rainy, we are prone to suffer from various health problems namely flu or fever.

There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problems mentioned above. Firstly, it is essential that the government formulate a policy to allocate jobs evenly between in the outskirts and in the city so that people do not have to travel too far. As a consequence, they can use a bicycle to go to work, thereby having a chance to improve their health. Secondly, governments should also raise public awareness about environmental protection in order to prevent climate change. By doing this, some phenomena related to extreme weather can be minimized, and cycling is likely to become much safer.

In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the decline in the number of bike users and measures can be implemented to tackle this issue.