Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership. Do you agree?

An increase in number of car-owners caused a plethora of issues whether the boundary should be settled by a legislation. More and more people believe that the authorities should take the question under their control and force the society to choose alternative means of transport.

To start with, it is apparent that cities are now overcrowded with automobiles, and this has a significant impact both on ecological and psychological living conditions. For instance, citizens are stuck in traffic jams, breathe polluted air, and feel uncomfortable because of produced noise. By the way, the main mission of any government is to provide a nation with safe and convenient life. People are unlikely to decline their comfort, so not many of us are ready to become ‘green’. Although, some are now aware of ecological disasters, we still buy a second or third car for a single household. Hence, the decrease in the amounts of cars on the roads is one of the problems, that should be fixed by special laws.

By the same token, international legislations might be more effective in this case, whereas the consideration of different nations’ experiences gives the opportunity to find the best solution. Various countries have chosen different measures, which seem likely to be combined. As for Spain, they settled a system of bicycle-sharing and excluded parts of the country from an automobile-roads maps. German authorities, by contrast, developed alternative machinery on solar or electric energy. Japan and China have the fastest public transport. One more protective measure was undertaken by Moscow with car-sharing services.

To summarize, I hardly can doubt that our society is conscious enough to stop the overuse of cars. That is the reason why both international and local legislation should be used to reduce the number of automobiles and settle a further control on the problem.