Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part-time job in their free time. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? State your opinion.

Some parents believe in the importance of an early work experience for their children. To a certain extent, it is true: it will give them the possibility to develop their responsibility and discipline and give them extra money for their expenses. However, it is essential to identify which jobs are safe for children and which age is appropriate for youngsters to work.

On the one hand, the development of specific characteristics and finance management could benefit children. All of these could make children empowered and more motivated. During summer and winter breaks, adolescents can be given the opportunity to work part-time, for example, selling milk or distributing flyers. This can motivate them to be proactive and help them understand the simple notion of budget allocation.

Nevertheless, not all jobs are suitable for children, and the age should be taken into account. This is the case in some developing countries, where parents encourage children to work from a young age and sustain their household. Such an experience could be hazardous for the well-being of those children. Particularly, children can be forced to do hard work, and employers can deceive them with a paycheck.

To conclude, working children are a delicate matter, so parents should consider the ethical issues as it depends on the type of work and the age. Nonetheless, responsible and disciplined children could be more successful in life in comparison with others.