As the population grows, the number of cars goes up. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As the world develops industrially, the number of cars purchased by the population increases. This essay will argue that the drawbacks of this for the nature outweigh the advantages for the single person. This essay will first demonstrate that the carbon footprint of transport is extremely detrimental for the environment and why driving a personal car can lead to other harmful habits, followed by an analysis of how the primary advantage, namely improving living conditions in the economically compromised zones with driving, is not valid.

The main reason to abstain from purchasing an automobile is its constant burning of fossil fuel, which goes up into the atmosphere, creating a greenhouse effect. That is to say that greenhouse gases are the main contributor to the global warming trend that intensifies in speed every year. For example, according to World Wildlife Fund projections for Europe, just a 20% reduction in motor vehicles usage will lower the average temperature rise by 2 degrees per annum. Many individuals tend to buy two or more cars for one family, distancing themselves further and further away from developing an environmental conscience. In other words, as they get used to driving, these groups of people start to ignore other wildlife friendly initiatives, such as carpooling with friends or sorting the rubbish waste. For instance, in Brazil, where a car ride is the most popular way of getting to work, employers report that their staff never uses recycle bins in the office.

Those opposed to this say that in less developed countries having a mean of personal transport, especially for low income parts of the society, can be a tool for survival. However, there is actually no evidence to support this view as in the long-term perspective car usage will lead to deplorable living conditions, replacing the need to commute with the need to survive in the environmentally dare situation. It is well known that Indonesian government, although it hurts a big part of the populous right now, is trying to subside the initiative of transforming the transportation system and developing cycle pathways by putting additional tax on vehicle drivers.

On balance, the fact that driving a car cause irrevocable harm to the world, as well as encourages other nature-negative behaviours clearly outweighs the flawed argument that it’s an essential tool for existence in emerging economies.