Although it is widely recognized that cars damage the environment, their manufacture and use continue to increase. Why is this the case? How could this increase be controlled?

By all accounts, private cars have been damaging the pristine environment for years; however, high demand for this kind of transportation deems to grow exponentially. This essay will examine the potential causes of this situation and propose some optimal solutions to curb this spread.

Lack of public transport and the mobility of cars are attributed to the explosive growth in the number of manufactured cars. First and foremost, the shortage of public transport has facilitated drivers to oft for private cars to commute to work. Take Vietnam as a prime example, the absence of subways and sky trains are resulting in high demand for cars, which, in turn, is deteriorating gridlocked rush-hour traffic in metropolitan areas. Additionally, the mobility of cars also accounts for rising cars on roads. This is because drivers could reach their destination whenever they desire without depending on a fixed schedule like buses or trains.

There are various ultimate solutions to control the increase in the number of manufactured cars. One of the most irrefutable ways is to impose a strict environmental protection tariff on those who own a car. This is likely to exert the financial burden on cars owners, which will eventually encourage people to steer clear of commuting by car. In tandem with this, what the government could take actions is to connect a variety of public transports. For instance, relocating bus stations next to sky train stations will hinder commuters from walking a long distance to their office, which is likely to motivate people to stay away from driving a car to the workplace.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that private cars will exacerbate environmental problems that might indirectly harm humans. Nonetheless, the limitations of public transport and the mobility of cars have led to high demand for cars. From my perspective, levying strict environmental protection tax on car owners and consolidating a connectivity network among public transports might contribute to the fall in the number of cars.