Although many people value their public parks this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies To what extent do you agree or disagree with this

In last decades population in all continents rapidly growth and it is predicted that this trend will continue even rapidly. Undoubtedly majority of population seeking to settle in big cities, which are mostly overpopulated and local councils targeting to parks as a new residential and commercial territories. However, despite the need of new houses and retail places, I disagree that the solution of using parks for this purpose for two reasons.

Firstly, from developing of the first park in New York, in 1900, city dwellers are going to parks to find a peace and relax from everywhere noise and traffic. Parks are mostly mix of trees, ponds and green lands with benches, therefore, white collars as well as mother with their child finding parks as a place of joy. I concede that many city parks are occupied by homeless and intoxicated individuals, who are making many parks less joyful. However, many city councils assigned rangers and cooperate with police force in purpose to reduce this negative aspect.

Last but not least, parks are oasis of every town. Increasing number of cars in cities cause that many cities are highly polluted by exhausted fumes. Trees and another flora in parks, helps to reduce this negative consequence of modern life. Take New York's Central Park for example. Several researches in last decades proved that presence of the Central park reduces greenhouse effect in 30 per cent.

In short, despite the urgent needs of accommodation and retail spaces, I strongly believe that reconstructing parks in purpose of city development, will result of lowering people's happiness, but also even more damage environment. Therefore, I suggest to find another, eco-friendly solution.