The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day 7 days a week To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many people believe that contributing to the buckshee public transport for all time is the optimum method to deal with traffic jam in urban. I partly agree with this notion for some reasons which will be outlined in my essay below.

On the one hand, we can not deny the benefits of traveling by public transport. When compared to private vehicles of the same area, a car can only carry 4 people but a bus can carry up to 8 people. Thus, if the government supports commuters by making public transport free, it will encourage a large number of people to quit using private vehicles and replace them with buses. Besides, traveling by buses not only reduces the number of personal vehicles traveling on the road but also helps to reduce emissions due to burning fuel. Hence, contributing to environmental protection can be considered as an effective way to reduce traffic congestion, especially in big cities.

On the other hand, if it is considered that this is the optimal measure to reduce traffic congestion, we should evaluate it specifically and in detail. Firstly, if the government provides funding for commuters to travel for free, public transport companies will reap nothing from the commuter. Therefore these enterprises lack reinvest in the means of transport leading to service quality tends to decrease. Secondly, in general, public transport such as buses are largely comparing to a personal vehicle, and the most obvious downside of this is not convenient for commuters when moving to crowded residential areas or very small roads. Thirdly, if people give up their vehicles to use public equipment, it will lead to manufacturers of personal vehicles at risk of bankruptcy due to the inability to consume products, and workers in this manufacturing sector are unemployed.

In conclusion, I think that providing a free public transport service is also a good idea to reduce traffic congestion. It would be most effective if the government simultaneously builds more routes and widen more roads to have enough space for both public and private vehicles