Topic prison is the best punishment for criminals Discuss

In today’s society, the increasing crime rate is considered to be a pressing issue that many countries are facing. Some people think that the benefit of a prison sentence outweighs other punishment, Although the benefits of this are varied, the drawbacks, in my opinion, should be paid more attention to.

On the one hand, putting these culprits in jail has several advantages. Firstly, for civilized societies, justice must always be delivered, the criminals must be paid for their sin and they should be put into prison to increase the safety of society, Imprisonment can isolate offenders from society, and they do not have the change to commit crimes again. Besides, when criminals are jailed, the victims feel trust in the legal system, otherwise, these victims will lose trust in society and can cause many personal revenge actions and may make social disorder. Secondly, this kind of punishment would be a good example for would-be criminals who do not dare to commit crimes when thinking about life in prison.

On the other hand, compare with other kinds of punishment, imprisonment has some drawbacks. First of all, it could be remarkably costly to manage the prison. Governments have to invest a considerable amount of money and other resources to keep the inmates. Secondly, It is unreasonable to impose a prison sentence on all levels of crime, some types of petty crimes may consider probation instead of imprisonment since imprisonment can result in a -size-fits-all approach, which may harm petty crimes. Thirdly, the prisoner has lacked education and training, therefore, they are difficult to integrate into the community. Research shows that most prisoners commit crimes within a year of release and unable to find a job.

In conclusion, although there are still some disadvantages of imprisonment, I think the advantages of this punishment are still outstanding and still useful in modern life.