The best way to solve the world s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

There is no doubt that environmental pollution has become a global problem these days. Although some people believe that raising the price of the fuel can mitigate this problem alone, I disagree with this statement. In my opinion, government can take other steps, such as increasing the number of public transportation and widespread using of renewable energy sources, instead of solely depending on fuel price hike.

To begin with, it is true that increasing the cost of fuel can solve the environmental pollution to some extent. This is because majority of the factories, industries and vehicles run by burning the fossil fuels, which produces toxic green-house gas that is mainly responsible for environmental pollution. In other words, these hazardous gases deplete the protective barriers of planet Earth, and this, in turn, causes a devastating effect to the environment. Therefore, if the government decides to soar up the fuel price, people will reduce the use of private vehicles and there will be limited number of factories operating in the country. This might decelerate the environmental pollution to some degree; however, it will give rise to other problems as well.

Fuel is considered as the driving force of a country. Thousands of people work in the fuel-run factories and companies, which is the only way to make their livelihood. Thus, raising the fuel price can stop the factories from functioning, and ultimately, sack these people from their jobs. To make matters worse, this can lead to protest and unrest in the country, which would culminate into violence and chaos. For instance, in 2019, Bangladeshi government had to deploy military army to control the infuriated public who were protesting the authority’s decision to increase fuel price. That is why a better solution of this problem would be to harness the power of renewable energy sources like solar, wind and tidal rather than the excessive reliance on non-renewable energy sources. Moreover, facilitating the use of public transport can be helpful in reducing the level of environmental pollution as well.

To conclude, I think that since rocketing fuel price can give rise to disruption and anarchy in the society and impede economic development of a country, the government should search for solution of this problem in renewable energy source and increasing public transport.