The government should allocate more funding to teaching sciences rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress To what extent do you agree

It is important to consider whether government should invest money on scientific subjects or reserve money for other subjects as well. Since science directly helps in the advancement of a country, some people are of the opinion that government should spend its entire resources only on science instead of other subjects. In my opinion, it should equally distribute its budget as other subjects like arts and history are necessary for the all-round development of a child.

To begin with, there is no doubt that science has blessed us with so many benefits. In other words, it has facilitated our lives in every way possible, which has enabled us to enjoy a better standard of life. To clarify, medical science has invented cures of many diseases that are considered to be fatal a few decades earlier, whereas engineering science has grant us the ability to construct buildings, bridges and industries through the application of technology. Needless to say, these have brought so many changes to our lives that it is hard to imagine a single day without using the scientific appliances. Therefore, it is reasonable to allocate fund for imparting the knowledge of science to students. However, this does not mean that government can ignore the importance of other subjects.

Despite learning science subjects, students need to have equal ideas about other subjects for their overall development. This is because science cannot provide the knowledge of arts and history to the students, which are undeniably the core subjects to ensure the progression of a nation. To elaborate, art helps the student not only to ignite their curiosities but also to find out their hidden potential, while history enlightens them with the information of their past and the foundation upon which a nation stands. Without acquiring such knowledge, a student cannot expect to excel in life regardless of how much command they have over scientific subjects. If government had decided to spend money on science only, then the students would have failed to learn about their culture, tradition and their origin through art and history.

In conclusion, after analyzing the above discussion, it is quite evident that a child needs the idea of both science and other subjects for prospering in life. Thus, I think that government should devise a plan for ensuring the equal distribution of financial support to science and other subjects as well.