The best way to solve the world's environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by a group of people that whether increasing the price for fuels of cars and other vehicles or not using clean sources of energy is one of the best ways to solve the world's environmental problem. Personally, although I agree with this idea, I believe that raising the cost of fuels has never been a completely good idea.

The main reason that I am in favour of supporting this idea is that growing the cost of using nonrenewable energy and taxing private car owners more in order to make them less willing to use their car and decreases the likelihood of a person buying their own car. In this way, it somehow creates a trend of using community transportation instead. Take a developed country for example, Singapore. This country has equipped this solution into society for decades, and the result is the awareness of protecting the environment in most of their people's minds.

Nevertheless, I also think that this could make the country’s government less income to develop other aspects of the economy. As usual, protecting the environment is always one of the most costly projects for the government to spend on. This leads to a problem that brings a lot of criticism: the tax. Taxes in some countries these days are quite heavy for its population to deal with. Many workers quit their jobs because their salaries have been taxed by up to 50%, making the number of unemployed non-stop moving up.

In conclusion, while I believe that this way could refresh the environment effectively, I think that the disadvantages of this could completely outweigh any other upside. In my own opinion, the government should do some more alternative ways to make our nature green again.